The Coat of Arms was approved on August 1, 1968.
Novorossiysk is the major port and industrial centre in the South of Russia, a City of Military Glory, a city-veteran of the Second World War.
On September 14, 1973 Novorossiysk was awarded with the honorable title “Hero City”. In this regard, the coat of arms of the city was added with the ribbon of the Order of Lenin and the Gold Star Medal. The history of the coat of arms during the Soviet time was rather short – a little bit more than three decades. On July 7, 2005 the historical coat of arms, approved in 1914 by Tzar Nicholas II’s decision, was returned to the city of Novorossiysk.
Fastening is on a safety pin. The method of painting is cold enamel.
The pin was made in the USSR in no later than 1973, and has never been reproduced.
The distinctive features of the rarity original pin are the manufacturer’s unique mark and stamped price on the back of the pin. In the Soviet Union due to the absence of the freewheeling economy, goods prices had been fixed for the whole country.
The text stamped on the back of the pin “TZ 15 K” means “Price 15 kopecks.” In modern Russia one van buy nothing for this sum.
The pin is a valuable collector’s item.
Novorossiysk is the Southern Gate of Russia, the country’s main port on the Black Sea and the leading Russian port for exporting grain. It is one of the few cities honored with the title of the Hero City. Its population is 251,013 men (2013).