The coat of arms was approved in May 8, 1846.
The silver horse on the green field means that the horses in these areas are considered to be the best and that the Tatars living close to the town have horse farms.
The two sheaves linked together and the sickle symbolize the development of arable farming.
Fastening is on a safety pin. The method of painting is cold enamel.
The pin was made in the USSR in the late 1980s, and has never been reproduced.
The distinctive features of the rarity original pin are the manufacturer’s unique mark and stamped price on the back of the pin. In the Soviet Union due to the absence of the freewheeling economy, goods prices had been fixed for the whole country.
The text stamped on the back of the pin “TZ 25 K” means “Price 25 kopecks.” In modern Russia one van buy nothing for this sum.
The pin is a valuable collector’s item.
Kolyvan is an urban locality and the administrative center of Kolyvansky District of Novosibirsk Oblast, Russia, located on the Ob River in 25 km to the north of Novosibirsk. Its population is 12,140 men (2013).
Kolyvan traces its history from the Chaussy burg, which was founded in 1713 to defend the southern borders of the Russian state in Western Siberia from the raids of the Kirghiz. The town took an important role in the development of Siberia.
The majority of the log houses in Kolyvan are more than 200 years old. This makes the town a historical monument in itself.
Pieces of Kolyvan arts and crafts are exhibited in the State Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg.
Among the town’s sights are a museum of local history and a Russian Orthodox convent.